Cameroon's minimum wage (SMIG): amounts, decrees and history
The guaranteed minimum wage (SMIG, salaire minimum interprofessionnel garanti) is the floor below which no employer may pay a worker covered by the Labour Code. It is set by decree of the Prime Minister, after consulting the National Labour Advisory Commission (section 62 of the 1992 Labour Code). Frozen at 36,270 CFA francs from 2014 to 2023, it was split into three sector rates in March 2023, then raised for state employees only in February 2024. As of October 2026, those rates still apply.
Information checked on
At a glance
- Private sector, non-farming
- 60,000 CFA francs a month (decree of 21 March 2023)
- Farming and related sectors
- 45,000 CFA francs a month (decree of 21 March 2023)
- State employees covered by the Labour Code
- 43,969 CFA francs a month (Decree No. 2024/0168/PM of 23 February 2024)
- Legal basis
- Section 62 of the Labour Code (Law No. 92/007 of 14 August 1992)
The rates in force in 2026
The decree signed on 21 March 2023 by Prime Minister Joseph Dion Ngute, which took effect on 23 March according to Lebledparle, created three separate minimum wages for the first time. It repealed the 2014 decree. The amounts had been unanimously approved on 8 February 2023 by the National Labour Advisory Commission, which brings together the Minister of Labour, unions and employers. The government presented them as “accompanying measures” to the fuel price rise of 31 January 2023.
| Category of workers | Monthly amount | Instrument |
|---|---|---|
| Other sectors (private, non-farming) | 60,000 CFA | Decree No. 2023/00338/PM of 21 March 2023 |
| Farming and related sectors | 45,000 CFA | Decree No. 2023/00338/PM of 21 March 2023 |
| State employees covered by the Labour Code | 43,969 CFA (41,875 CFA from March 2023 to February 2024) | Decree No. 2024/0168/PM of 23 February 2024 |
The decree of 23 February 2024 raised by 5% (+2,094 CFA) only the minimum wage of state employees covered by the Labour Code, effective on signature; according to EcoMatin, the 45,000 and 60,000 CFA rates were left unchanged. It came about three weeks after another fuel price rise (+15% for petrol, +13% for diesel). WageIndicator, consulted in October 2026, still lists these three rates as the latest in force.
A paradox is often pointed out: the state, which sets the floor, applies the lowest rate to itself. As early as March 2023 the economist and politician Louis-Marie Kakdeu denounced, according to KOACI, a “discriminatory” increase at odds with the spirit of the Labour Code, which provides for a single cross-sector minimum wage.
History of the SMIG since 1992
| Year | Monthly SMIG | Increase | Instrument |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1992 | 19,000 CFA | — | Not specified |
| 1995 | 23,514 CFA | +4,514 | Not specified |
| 2008 | 28,216 CFA | +4,702 | Not specified |
| 2014 | 36,270 CFA | +8,054 | Decree No. 2014/2217/PM of 24 July 2014 |
| 2023 | 41,875 (state), 45,000 (farming), 60,000 CFA (other) | +5,605 at the lowest rate | Decree No. 2023/00338/PM of 21 March 2023 |
| 2024 | 43,969 CFA (state only) | +2,094 (+5%) | Decree No. 2024/0168/PM of 23 February 2024 |
Between 1995 and 2008 the minimum wage did not move for thirteen years. In all, the lowest SMIG rose by 24,969 CFA francs between 1992 and 2024, according to Journal du Cameroun's calculation.
What the SMIG covers, and what it does not
- It applies to employees covered by the Labour Code: the private sector, farming and state employees hired on labour-law contracts (not to civil servants, who are paid on their own scale).
- It does not protect workers in the informal economy, who have neither a contract nor a payslip: the majority of the workforce (see the page on informal work).
- The SMIG is a floor: above it, job categories and their pay are set by each industry's collective agreement or by company agreements (section 62(2)).
- Employers must post the minimum wage rates where wages are paid (section 64 of the Labour Code).
Compliance remains patchy, including in local government. A 2023 report by the Ministry of Decentralisation (MINDDEVEL), cited by EcoMatin in February 2024, found that about 3.46% of council employees earned less than the old 36,270 CFA minimum wage and that only 29% were registered with the CNPS. The implementing text specific to local authorities had not yet been signed at that date.
Above the SMIG: collective agreements
Each industry (retail, banking, insurance, construction…) has its own collective agreement, which grades jobs into categories and steps and sets a base salary for each. The full pay scales are not published online by the Ministry of Labour. One recent revision, of the retail agreement, is documented in the press:
| Agreement | Date | Pay-scale increase |
|---|---|---|
| National collective agreement for retail and trade (revision of the 2017 version) | 16 January 2024 | +30% (categories 1-3), +11% (4-5), +7.5% (6-8), +4% (9-12); transport allowance raised from 1,000 to 1,300 CFA per working day |
Union demands and regional comparison
The tripartite talks of June 2022 ended without agreement, according to Journal du Cameroun: some unions wanted 82,000 CFA francs, others 100,000, and the CAWOF platform of eight confederations 104,737, while employers offered between 40,000 and 100,000 depending on the sector. The 2023 decree fell well short of that. On 1 May 2026 Labour Minister Grégoire Owona promised a further increase “in the years to come”, with no amount or timetable, according to Camer.be.
The same 2022 talks placed Cameroon near the bottom in Central Africa: Journal du Cameroun then cited 128,000 CFA francs in Equatorial Guinea, 80,000 in Gabon and 60,000 in Chad. These figures date from 2022 and have not been rechecked for 2026.
Frequently asked questions
What is the minimum wage in Cameroon in 2026?
Three rates coexist: 60,000 CFA francs a month in the private non-farming sector, 45,000 in farming (decree of 21 March 2023) and 43,969 for state employees covered by the Labour Code (decree of 23 February 2024).
Is the minimum wage still 36,270 CFA francs?
No. That amount, set by the decree of 24 July 2014, was repealed by the decree of 21 March 2023. Some 2026 press articles still wrongly quote it.
Who sets the minimum wage in Cameroon?
The Prime Minister, by decree, after consulting the National Labour Advisory Commission, where government, unions and employers sit (section 62 of the Labour Code).
When will the minimum wage go up?
No date has been set. On 1 May 2026 the Minister of Labour promised an increase “in the years to come”, without giving an amount.
Can an employer pay less than the minimum wage?
Not for an employee covered by the Labour Code: the SMIG is a legal floor, and collective agreements often set higher minimums by category.
Handle with care
The full text of the 2023 and 2024 decrees is only published online as a hard-to-read scan: the amounts come from the press, which agrees on 41,875, 45,000, 60,000 and 43,969 CFA francs. EcoMatin once writes “41,865” for 2023, but the 5% rise to 43,969 confirms 41,875. The 2023 decree is numbered “2023/00338/PM” by ECOLEX and “2023/0038/PM” in a CNPS statement quoted by EcoMatin. The numbers and dates of the 1992, 1995 and 2008 decrees were not found. The hourly minimum wage and full collective-agreement pay scales are not officially published online. The date of 30 July 2014 sometimes quoted differs from the decree's (24 July 2014).